The Delhi Daredevils - Capital Cricket

The Delhi Daredevils, now known as The Delhi Capitals, is a franchise cricket team that represents Delhi (as you can probably guess from their name) in the Indian Premier League. The team is owned by the JSW Group and the GMR Group, and their home stadium is the Arun Jaitley Stadium.

Delhi Daredevils IPL team logo

Past Performances in the IPL

The Delhi Daredevils have played in eleven IPL tournaments, but despite their fearsome attitude and great spirit they are still yet to appear in the final. Their best performance to date is 2019 when they qualified for the playoffs for the first time since 2012.

Overall, they have played 177 matches in the IPL. They have won 77 of them, lost 98, and had a no result for two of them. The team that they have had most success against is the Gujarat Lions as they have beaten them three out of the four times that they have played. Their bogey team seems to be the Chennai Super Kings as they have only beaten them six times from twenty-one matches.

2019 Name Change to the Delhi Capitals

Delhi Capitals IPL team logo

In 2019, just before the 2019 IPL edition, the Daredevils were renamed as The Delhi Capitals. This name change also came with a new logo for the cricket team. There has been a lot of speculation as to why this name change was done or even necessary. It is widely thought that due to the years of underachievement the owners wanted to make a fresh start after finishing bottom of the table in the IPL 2018 edition. Never with good odds, they were always a safe choice to bet against, so it may finally have been time for the owners to get rid of a losing team name that was always at the bottom of cricket online betting markets.

Another school of thinking is that the word “Devil” was a source of negativity. It goes without saying that fan reactions on Twitter were about as hilarious as you would expect. You can always trust cricket fans to approach everything with good humour.

All this being said, their fans have embraced the new team name because it is performance that matters. We really hope that this new identity will eschew the reputation of the old one, and be a good bet for cricket punters to take a stake on during their forthcoming IPL matches, to one day be worth of representing their city at the finals of the IPL. If you want to get in on our team early you can learn how to do online cricket betting at

If, however, you’re already familiar with the process of cricket betting online, then you might need some assistance in choosing which markets to play bets on, which sites to play at, and maybe even some tips for good measure. If that is the case, then you’re in luck! Our partners at have written a fantastic guide detailing the most profitable betting markets, the cricket betting sites with the best bonuses, as well as some great cricket tips to boot.

Top Cricketers

The Delhi Daredevils have had plenty of great players play for them over the years, which is why it is a bit of a surprise that they have not done better than they have! Their top scorer at the moment is Virender Sehwag as he scored 2382 runs for them over a five-year period at an average of 29.77 and a strike rate of 158.37. Other great batsmen who have played for them include David Warner, Gautam Gambhir, Quinton de Kock, Kevin Pietersen, and AB de Villiers.

When it comes to bowlers, their most successful bowler over the years has been Amit Mishra. He played for them from 2008 until 2019 and picked up 101 wickets at an average of 24.27 and an economy rate of 7.36. Other great bowlers that have played for them include Morne Morkel, Imran Tahir, Trent Boult, and Kagiso Rabada.


Last modified: 21 January 2021